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Using Technology To Determine Market Demand

Jan 7, 2022 10:47:53 PM / by Byter Team posted in Digital Marketing, Marketing, Traffic, Search Engines

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Market demand is the total amount of goods and services that all consumers are willing and able to purchase at a specific price in a marketplace. In other words, it represents how much consumers can and will buy from suppliers at a given price level in a market.

Now, how do we determine market demand? What techniques and technologies can we adopt to help us understand what the market is demanding? Can SEO research aid us in determining market demand? People who opt to following their gut instincts when figuring out market demand can sometimes lead to incorrect analogies, which then leads to pointless campaigns, wasted money and time.

What are the benefits of calculating market demand

To help marketers and business start-ups there are great softwares, apps and technologies that gather correct data based on customer behaviours, this information can then be evidenced forecast to help evaluate whether a business venture is feasible or not, we’ll talk about these later.

On top of figuring out whether a product will sell or not, there are lots of other insightful reasons for calculating product demand that will help you make better-informed business decisions. For example, knowing how high the demand for a product is informs pricing strategies and being aware of the type of people who will be interested in your product helps craft marketing initiatives. 

What determines market demand?

There are several factors you need to be aware of when calculating market demand:

  • Number of people actively searching for a product like yours
  • How many people are willing to pay for a product like yours
  • How available your product is for purchase, considering your own company and your competitors selling the same/ similar products

What technology can help determine market demand?

Now that we’ve covered the basics, let’s get on to the good stuff. You are probably wondering what technology is out there that can help you perform your market demand analysis. There’s two great tools you’ll need to make use of:

  • Search engine optimisation (SEO) tools

There are countless free SEO tools out there that you can use to gather insights about your product or service. These tools will tell you search volume, so you know how many times on average people are searching for the product each month, and keyword suggestions, which tells you how often people are searching for related terms. SEO tools can be a great source of inspiration as they will help you determine how frequently users are searching for your product and related terms. You can even filter your searches by location and time period which will give you specific brand insights that can inform your focus and decisions moving forward. 

Here are a few of some great free SEO tools:

  1. Aherfs’ free SEO tools 
  2. Google Analytics 
  3. Keyword Hero
  • Social Media Platforms 

Social media platforms can give you a wealth of data that you can use to inform all kinds of decisions you make related to products, marketing strategies and your overall brand identity. By simply searching specific keywords you can see all related posts informing you who’s talking about them, the general sentiment behind, where people are talking about them and what they’re saying.

  • Social Media Insights

A great way to further understand market demands is on social platforms. Instagram has a built in feature for business accounts called Instagram insights, providing information on customer demographics, high and low content interaction, gains and losses on follower count, post reach and so much more (read more about instagram analytics here). Using this free built in feature on your social media accounts can provide you a greater understanding of what your customers like to see, what they demand for and what type of content really resonates with them. 

What other methods can I use to determine market demand?

There are other, more traditional, methods for calculating market demand. For example, you could carry out surveys or questionnaires either on social media or via email. Aim to reach as many people as possible with this method because the greater the scope you create, the more accurate and informative your market research will be. 

Another promising method is planning and executing experiments which, although these can be expensive and time-consuming, offer very informative results. An example of this might be offering a new product at a discounted price for a limited time which will encourage a large number of purchases. From this, you can determine who’s interested in your product and gather feedback from those who have bought it. 

Thinking up a new business idea can be really exciting, but knowing your idea will work is even better. We hope you’ve found this article useful, and if you have any questions we’d love to hear from you! You can contact us here

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Combatting Google’s New Page Experience Algorithm

Jan 7, 2022 10:46:49 PM / by Byter Team posted in Marketing, Traffic, Search Engines

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From May 2021 your website traffic might go down (or up). Why? Because Google is implementing a brand new algorithm designed to change the way websites rank on search results. Google’s aim is to provide a positive experience for users interacting on the web. That’s why they have come up with a way to measure and prioritise user experience. Welcome to the page experience algorithm. 

In this post, we’re going to explain to you what the new algorithm is, and show you how to combat it so that when May comes around your traffic doesn’t plummet. You’re welcome. 

An explanation of the Google Page Experience update

By introducing the following three metrics, Google hopes to decrease common frustrations users have whilst interacting with web pages:

  • What speed does the page load at?
  • How soon is the page interactive?
  • How stable is the page?

By prioritising the webpages that positively satisfy these metrics, Google hopes to recommend those which are easy to use and well-maintained first. 

If you want to really get to grips with the upcoming changes, here’s our breakdown of the technical details…

These are the core web vitals that will impact your site’s traffic: 

  • Largest Contentful Paint (LCP)

This is the main metric for page load speed. It measures how long users have to wait before large blocks of content load such as images, videos and chunks of text. Page content that takes more than 4 seconds to load will rank poorly, to improve your LCP measure, consider doing the following:

  • Scale down image sizes so they load faster
  • Use a size loading optimizer plugin
  • Boost server speed

 

  • Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS)

We’ve all been there, opened a page and tried to click on something before it’s fully loaded, and then by the time it does load, a shift occurs that changes the location of where we clicked. It’s a real pain and this metric measures just that. Unexpected element shifts can cause unwanted interactions, to avoid this make sure elements on your page do not suddenly change in size between the first and final loading. 

 

  • First Input Delay (FID)

This one measures how soon you can interact with elements on a page, or how quickly these interactive elements respond to user action. A good measure for this is 100 milliseconds, and anything longer than 300 milliseconds is, well, too long. You can improve on this by using a good programmer to test, audit and optimise the code. 

What will make pages rank high?

Any pages that are tailored to answering specific queries from a targeted audience to influence conversion rates will be ranking high once the new Google algorithm takes off. This is because conversion rate optimisation (CRO) techniques also influence the user experience (UX). Simply put, Google will be looking at how effective your conversion strategies are in prompting users to take the desired action. 

Our recommendation is this:

  • Quality content should remain your top priority. 
  • SEO continues to be relevant.
  • Regular testing is essential.

Combatting the update

We don’t want to worry you, we just want to prepare you… Here are some actions you can start taking to ensure your site continues to rank well after the update:

We hope this post has helped you get to grips with the changes coming in May. If you need any help ensuring your page content meets the requirements of the new Google algorithm update, feel free to contact us. We’d love to assist! 

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Business Event Marketing: How to Attract People?

Jan 7, 2022 10:45:59 PM / by Byter Team posted in Digital Marketing, Marketing, Sales and marketing

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Business Event Marketing

A great way to attract new clients and grow your business is by hosting an event where like-minded people from relevant industries can gather to, learn, network and form beneficial relationships aka a Business event. Do this by planning Business Event Marketing.

For many organisations these events can be one of the most successful outbound strategies because of the positive face-to-face interactions between their brand and others, making it easier to gain and retain clients

Hosting a business event isn’t all smooth sailing though, it can be really difficult to attract people to attend them, especially when competitors are hosting events around a similar time. To help you make sure your event is a success, we’ve got some tips to help you spread awareness early, quickly and effectively. Business Event Marketing has many forms, which we will dive more into now.

Reach a wide audience with Business Event Marketing

To have the highest possible chance of attracting lots of businesses to your event, you should utilise multiple channels for spreading the word about your event

Business people are busy. So if you want to catch their attention you’ll need to approach them from many different angles. Here are four channels that we believe you’ll have the greatest chance of success in reaching them on:

A fast way to reach your target audience is via email marketing; a channel that allows you to directly communicate with your existing contacts who might be interested in attending the event. There are also ways to gain new contacts and build up an email list of potential attendees, we’ve written an article that shows you how to do this, read here

It is almost guaranteed that the majority of your target audience will use at least one form of social media. That’s why we’re telling you to post on all of them. Social media marketing is a great way to catch your audience’s attention, post about your event on Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, Twitter, and Pinterest. Facebook also allows you to create events that you can promote to reach your target audience. You can get great results from both organic and paid promotions using social media, so it’s suitable for all budget sizes. 

  • Event sites

Websites such as Eventbrite are not only the perfect place to broadcast your event, but they’re super handy too. You can use these websites for registration and selling tickets as well as promotion. This method will only work on people already searching for events like yours though, so opt for a combination of these four strategies if you want the best results. Business Event Marketing should be a part of your digital marketing strategy.

The power of good old fashioned direct mail should not be underestimated. This method still works well for business marketing, and although it may be going out of style, it can actually be a unique way to stand out from your competitors. You have the option to send postcards, brochures, letters or leaflets that contain relevant information about your event and a strong CTA (call to action) directing your audience to get in touch. 

In addition to these outreach methods, we’ve got plenty of other tips for building a buzz around your event…

  • Create an event microsite for Business Event Marketing

Give your event a boost by creating a standalone website dedicated to it. This will serve as a landing page for all your outreach, and keep the focus on your event. Including high-quality content relevant to the event on your microsite will boost SEO and draw in leads from search engine result pages.  Another item for your Business Event Marketing.

  • Make sure event outreach is mobile-friendly

A substantial amount of your target audience will access event information and content on their smartphones. If your outreach doesn’t format properly on these devices, you risk losing a lot of potential leads. We recommend building a separate, unique interface for mobile devices so that users get the most seamless experience possible. 

  • Maintain event tech year-round for business

A successful event can be a great springboard for future ones. Make use of the existing buzz and try to keep your attendees engaged year-round in anticipation of your next event. Here are some ways you can do it:

  1. Pack your microsite with on-demand content that’s accessible year-round and notify attendees every time you upload fresh content.
  2. Maintain an active discussion forum so that attendees can ask questions and seek opinions on industry topics. 
  3. Build hype for your next event with promotional content such as images, graphics and videos. Success stories and important statistics from your last event will help attract new attendees.

We hope these tips are useful, and we’d love to hear how you get on with your next business event. If you need a helping hand we can handle all things digital for you, get in touch today and let’s chat!

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Email Marketing: The Ultimate Guide

Jan 7, 2022 10:45:09 PM / by Byter Team posted in Social Media, Marketing, Traffic, Keywords

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Did you know there are over 4 billion email users worldwide? That’s more than half the world’s population and shows that email marketing is an opportunity your business can’t afford to miss out on. Whether you’re a small business with limited resources or a large business with an enormous budget, email marketing is a strategy that anyone can master and benefit from. 

In recent years social media has become the digital marketing tool that everyone’s talking about, and email marketing is often looked at as a thing of the past. However, email marketing is still up there as one of the best. In fact, according to a study done by McKinsey & Company, Email marketing can be up to 40 times more effective than social media. The key to this success is ensuring your email marketing meets the following three necessary elements:

  • You do not bombard your recipients with emails. 
  • Your emails contain high-quality content that meets the interests of your recipients.
  • You include a compelling CTA, (call to action). 

What is email marketing?

Before we show you how to conduct the perfect email marketing campaign, let’s start with a definition of what it is. 

Email marketing is a digital marketing method that uses email to promote products or services and encourages brand loyalty. Email marketing aims to build customer relationships and keep customers engaged between purchases. In it’s simplest form email marketing is a type of advertisement.

So now we’ve covered the ‘whats’ let’s cover the ‘hows’… here are our four steps explaining how you can build the perfect email marketing campaign. 

Step 1. Plan your email marketing strategy

Planning is an essential part of building your campaign. Your emails are at high risk of becoming lost in overcrowded inboxes or getting sent straight to spam. That’s why it’s crucial that you strategise your approach. Here’s a little roadmap of how to do it:

  • Define your audience

Just like every other marketing strategy, you must begin by creating your buyer persona. Who will you be sending your emails to? What are their needs and pain points? This is who you will tailor your email content to. 

  • Set your goals

Motivation comes from having something to work towards, so research email statistics for your industry and set yourself some realistic benchmarks. 

  • Choose your Email campaign type

There are lots of different types of email campaigns that suit different industries and recipient demographics. For example, standard promotional campaigns, newsletters, product announcements, abandoned carts, and more. Decide which campaign is best for your audience.

  • Create a campaign schedule

The best way to stay organised and make sure your campaign doesn’t lose momentum is to stick to a schedule. When deciding how often your emails will go out, first consider how often is too often? i.e. don’t bombard your recipients, and secondly, think about what is the right length of time to leave between emails to ensure your recipients don’t forget about you. 

Step 2. Build your email list

Once you’ve finished planning your campaign you can start putting it together. Start by building an email list of eager prospects that are interested in hearing from you. Wondering how to do that? We’ve got you covered.

There are two elements to building a healthy email list, the first involves using lead magnets to lure in potential customers, the second involves producing compelling opt-in forms. Let’s take a look at these in more detail…

Lead Magnets

If you want to generate an authentic list of emails from people who are actually interested in what your business has to offer, then using lead magnets is a great method for naturally attracting these prospects. A lead magnet is essentially a piece of content, related to your industry, that you offer to people for free in exchange for their email address. Examples of lead magnets are:

  • Ebook
  • Whitepaper
  • Infographic
  • Template
  • Webinar
  • Software or tool

Lead magnets are effective for two reasons. Firstly, because lead magnets are related to and relevant to your business, they attract the right kind of prospects who fit your buyer persona and secondly, because they actually work, people tend to be willing to hand over their email addresses if they’re going to receive something of value to them in return. 

Opt-in forms

You’ve created an attractive lead magnet, and it’s drawing interest from potential customers. What next? This is where an opt-in form comes in. Not having one is the only thing stopping your future leads from accessing the incredible asset you’ve designed for them and stopping you from securing their email addresses. 

What is an opt-in form you ask? It’s a digital form containing a few simple fields to be filled in by your prospects. Once the form is completed, your potential customers will be granted access to your lead magnet, and you will receive the information they entered. 

Here are three things to remember when creating your opt-in form:

  • Keep it simple

A lengthy form with too much copy and an excessive number of fields to complete will deter your future leads. Only ask for basic information and keep it to the point. 

  • Make sure it’s attractive

Your opt-in form is the first thing people see so the design work needs to be tip-top. Consider adding an attention-grabbing header that will excite people and persuade them to sign up. 

  • Only add relevant info

Your primary goal is to get people to sign up, but don’t do this by embellishing or through deception. Make sure all the information on your form is relevant and an accurate description of what they will receive. 

Step 3. Send your emails 

After all the time and effort that went into building the perfect email list, wouldn’t it be a shame if your email is sent straight to spam? Well, that’s exactly what will happen if you lose momentum now. Before you send your email, there’s a little more hard work to be done. Don’t worry though, it will pay off. Here are the next things you need to do:

Choose an email marketing service provider

Since you’re going to be sending out a lot of emails, it’s only wise to choose an email marketing service to support you in your marketing efforts. These are simply tools or software that allow you to design and personalise professional-looking emails which can then be scheduled and sent en-masse. They also offer a breakdown of the data so you can analyse your efforts.

Segment your email list

Your current email list can be segmented into categories which will allow you to send more targeted emails. For example, you may want to segment your list according to age-groups, interests or preferences. This will help you to be more personal with your campaign, instead of sending out generic emails containing ‘canned’ copy. 

Craft your email

You might know what the content of your email is going to be, but do you know how to optimise every inch of it to make sure it lands perfectly? Here are our top tips for crafting the perfect marketing email:

  • Write relevant and consistent copy

Try and stick to one topic in your email so that there’s a clear, defined point that your CTA will follow naturally from. Also, decide on a TOV (tone of voice) that will be iconic to all of your brand’s copy, and be consistent with it throughout your emails.

  • Include high-quality images

How do you make an email look nice? By including high-quality, attractive images that will make it more interesting and break up the text. Make sure they’re relevant to your topic. 

  • Add a CTA

A CTA, or “call to action” is a word or phrase that prompts a response from the reader. For example, if the aim of your email is to direct the reader to your website, tell them to click on a link to it. 

  • Consider the time of day

The best time of day to send a marketing email is between 8:00 am and 9:00 am. During this time your email has the highest chance of being opened. 

  • Insert an enticing subject line

The first thing your recipients will see is the subject line, think of this as your elevator pitch. In less than 150 characters you need to convince them to open your email. Be clear, concise and use enticing language. 

If you’d like to see these tips in more detail, we’ve dedicated an article to just that. Don’t say we never treat you. Read it here.

Now you’ve crafted the perfect email, you should be ready to click send. Once your email has been delivered, the waiting game begins. However, your work isn’t over yet. Next up is email marketing analysis…

Step 4. Analyse your email marketing 

Measuring the effectiveness of your marketing campaign is going to equip you to make better decisions in the future that will help you to cater for your readers and subscribers and ultimately have a positive impact on your business. Here are four key metrics you should pay attention to when measuring the effectiveness of your campaign:

Deliverability

The rate at which your email reaches the intended recipient’s inboxes. 

Open rate

The percentage of recipients that open the email.

Clickthrough rate

The percentage of recipients that click on the CTA.

Unsubscribers

The number of people who, since receiving your email, have opted out of your email list. 

A/B testing

It can be hard to tell which aspects of your email campaigns are hitting a high note with your audience and which aspects are falling short. That’s where A/B testing comes to the rescue. Here’s how to do it: 

  • Choose a variable to test, e.g. CTA, images, subject line.
  • Create two versions of the same email, one containing the variable and one without it.
  • Simultaneously send each email, one email should go to half of your email list and the other should go to the second half of your email list.
  • Now you can measure the effectiveness of the chosen variable by seeing which email performed better.

This article was a long one, we know. But we wanted to treat you to a comprehensive guide so you can make better-informed decisions when crafting your next email marketing campaign. Good luck!

As Always, Good Luck!

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A Useful Guide for Preventing Customer Churn

Jan 7, 2022 10:44:07 PM / by Byter Team posted in Social Media, Sales and marketing

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Is there anything worse than not winning a new customer? Yes, losing an existing one. It’s every salesperson’s worst nightmare. You win some, you lose some, such is life. Here’s the good news though, in many cases customer churn can be prevented. We’re going to walk you through five steps on how to do it. 

What is customer churn?

First, though, let’s start at the beginning. If customer churn is a phrase you’ve never heard before, it’s simply this: the percentage of customers that stopped using your company’s products or services over a set time frame.

Here’s the formula for calculating your customer churn rate:

Customer churn rate = No. of customers you lost / No. of customers you began with x 100

So, let’s say you want to calculate your customer churn rate for the month of January. If you lost 15 customers and started with 50, your customer churn rate would be the following:

15 / 50 = 0.3

  1. 3 x 100 = 30%

5 steps for preventing customer churn

Now you know what customer churn is, let’s have a look at some methods to prevent it. 

Outstanding customer service

Your customer service can make or break your company. Deliver poor customer service and you can say goodbye to both your customers and your reputation. 

Delivering excellent customer service will make your customers feel heard and that’s going to guarantee their respect. Don’t wait around for them to contact you either, you should reach out to your customers now and then to offer some support, they’ll appreciate that you took the time to contact them. 

Value beyond purchase

On top of outstanding customer service, you should also prove to your customers that your company can offer them more than just the one product or service they needed. If you can continue to deliver valuable resources they are more likely to continue being a customer. Examples you can send to them include:

  • Newsletters
  • Relevant blog posts
  • Info on upcoming events

Personalised customer experiences

Customers like to feel special. That’s why it’s crucial that all of the interactions you have with them are personalised. You might not be able to hand-write every email you send, but you could segment your email lists into certain demographics and send tailored emails with relevant content to each of the different groups. 

Analyse churned customers

Struggling to figure out why you’re losing customers? It’s simple, just ask them. Consider sending out surveys to churned customers and find out what turned them off, and what you can do better in future. 

The data you collect will be instrumental in drawing helpful conclusions about the changes you need to make, then you can get on with implementing these changes and start reducing your churn rate. 

Study your strongest customer relationships

As well as analysing those churned customers, it will also be beneficial to decipher the things your organisation is good at. Knowing what is keeping your customers from churning means you can, well, keep on doing it. You can then focus on your positive attributes and keep improving them, making them more seamless and effective. 

Don’t let customer churn get you down. It’s a fact of life that all salespeople must face. Instead of allowing it to get the better of you, follow these 5 steps so you can minimise your customer churn rate and get back to doing what you love – selling! 

 

As Always, Good Luck!

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Increase Your Customer Retention Rate

Jan 7, 2022 10:43:19 PM / by Byter Team posted in Social Media, London, Sales and marketing

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Customer Retention

It’s human nature to want something you don’t have. That’s why there’s something very exciting about acquiring new customers. For this reason, some companies spend most of their time and energy on the hunt for brand new customers, when they should be spending just as much of it on retaining the ones they already have.

What if we told you that a returning customer is actually more beneficial than gaining a new one? Why? Because returning customers are loyal ones, and a loyal customer is a committed customer. If they’ve decided they like your brand, then the chances are they’re going to keep coming back. BUT! This does of course require some effort on your part. Don’t worry though, we’ve done the hard part for you. We’ve gathered six retention strategies that will keep your customers engaged and happy. 

Use customer service tools for Customer Retention

One foolproof method for keeping your existing customers satisfied is by providing top-tier customer service. This can be a difficult task when you have so many customers though… Enter customer service tools. 

Software such as a good CRM will take the stress out of it. You can record customer interactions and create support tickets, these will reside in one unified hub so that every rep has access to it and keep Customer Retention high.

Inspire customer loyalty with a mission

Give your customers a reason to stay loyal to you by introducing a mission statement. You can inspire commitment from them through what they stand for. Now, more than ever, people are choosing brands with a message that aligns with their own beliefs. Whether it’s a devotion to planting trees, investing in young people, or improving workplace diversity, having an ultimate purpose for what you do will give your customers a reason to stand by you.  

Keep them keen on convenience

A major reason people opt to stick by a company is due to ease of use or convenience. A prime example of this is when an online retailer provides the option to “save payment details”. Never again do you have to scramble for your debit card every time you want to make a purchase, and it’s simple conveniences such as this that keep customers going back to the same shop. 

Get personal with them

Create relationships with your customers by leveraging personalisation. A great way to do this is by utilising social media platforms and interacting with your customers in an authentic, human manner. For example, you could set up a company Twitter page where customers can tag you in posts, and receive personable responses from members of your team. 

Spark a rivalry between you and your competitors

There’s a reason why sports teams inspire mass followings from so many committed fans… even when the team isn’t a very good one. People love rivalry. Spark a divide between yourself and your competitors, using a bit of tongue and cheek of course, and your customers might just become your biggest brand advocates. 

Start a subscription service

This strategy is all about making your customers feel like they’re members of a VIP club. Offer them incentives for signing up, such as discounts or access to services that regular customers don’t have. 

The aim of the game for retaining customers is to give them a reason to choose you instead of taking their custom elsewhere. We hope you find these six strategies useful, good luck! 

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Boost Your Instagram Engagement

Jan 7, 2022 10:42:23 PM / by Byter Team posted in Digital Marketing, Social Media, Traffic

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Remember the days when you would log in to Instagram to find all the latest posts you’ve missed in a nice chronological order? Those days were bliss. 

These days your feed seems to present in a totally random order, and not to mention the fact that your Aunt is always mad at you for not liking her recent cat photo…it’s not your fault though, it didn’t come up on your feed! In fact, there’s a really simple explanation for this; it’s Instagram’s new algorithm. 

For many brands, the new algorithm definitely came as a shock. Instagram used to be one of the easiest social media marketing tools to navigate. You post a pic, people see it, and hey-presto, you gain customers. Now though, making sure your photos get seen is a little trickier, but do not to fear! We’ve got the low-down on how to beat the algorithm and get your posts ranking high in the feed. It’s all about engagement. The more people you’ve got liking and commenting on your posts, the better it will rank on the Instagram feed. 

How to boost Instagram engagement

Here are some clever ways to get more comments and likes on your posts, and ultimately rank higher in user’s feeds. 

Post frequently

Rarely active accounts just don’t fare well on Instagram, or any other social media platform for that matter. If you want to get people engaging with your photos, you need to get them interested in your account and looking forward to your next post. If you don’t post very often, people will inevitably forget about you, unfollow you, and sadly you’ll fade into the background. 

Host a giveaway

Who doesn’t love free stuff? Am I right? Hosting a giveaway is a great way to entice users to like, comment and share your content. Invite users to enter the contest by engaging with your post, perhaps by tagging three of their friends, (who may then also enter the contest). 

Host a takeover

Hosting a takeover means allowing another company, colleague or influencer to post on your account for a certain amount of time, (usually a day). This is a really clever way to attract their audience over onto your page so you can gather follows, likes and comments from a brand new set of users.

Ask people to comment 

We’ve all heard it before…‘why don’t you just ask?’. It can feel wrong to do it, but actually, asking for something is often the easiest way to get it. 

Applying this method to Instagram, find ways to ask your followers for their input on your most recent post. You could ask for their opinion on something, whether they agree or disagree with a statement, or even ask for their advice.  

Respond to comments

Following on nicely from our last tip, try and respond to comments. You don’t need to respond to them all, but perhaps the ones that stand out to you, or as many as you have the time for. 

Modern consumers love two-way marketing. It feels good to have a conversation with your favourite brands. It will also encourage people to comment because they will want a response from you. 

Post something funny or shocking

Want to really get people talking? Give them something to talk about!

If you post something funny, surprising or provocative, you’re bound to get a conversation started. This tactic will have users commenting about their responses and tagging their friends. 

Post a teaser on your story

Some people browse through their story feed just as much, if not more than they do their general feed. Don’t want them to miss your post? Add a little teaser to your story so they’ll be directed to your post. 

These tips should have you well on your way to beating Youtube’s new algorithm and upping your posts’ engagement. If you’re yet to establish a social media presence for your brand, take a look at this article we wrote on how to build a flawless social media marketing strategy. 

Good luck!

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How To Get More Views on Youtube

Jan 7, 2022 10:41:36 PM / by Byter Team posted in Social Media, Traffic, Sales and marketing

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The platform launched in 2005, and since then has grown to become the second most visited website in the world. Yet, for some reason, Youtube is overlooked by some businesses as a potential marketing tool. That’s why we’re here to tell you that Youtube is a great way to engage potential customers, and give you some top tips for raking those views in.

Why is Youtube an effective marketing tool?

  • Each month, Youtube gains over 1 billion unique visitors worldwide. That’s a LOT of potential exposure for your business. 
  • Most people prefer visual content. Potential customers are much more likely to watch an informative video about your product or service than read a lengthy sales letter.
  • Producing Youtube videos is an opportunity for your business to gain trust and establish authority within your industry.
  • Youtube is a two-way marketing method. You can interact with your customers in the comment sections beneath each video. This should go down a treat with modern consumers who love to feel connected to a brand. 

How to gain views on Youtube videos

Hopefully, by this point, we’ve convinced you that Youtube has a lot of benefits to offer. Whether you’re new to Youtube or you’ve already started a channel for your business but are yet to gain traction, here are some tips for pumping up that all-important view-count on your videos. 

Think SEO

Youtube is a search engine, in fact, it’s the second biggest search engine after Google. That’s why SEO applies here too. 

Google owns Youtube which means they have similar ranking systems for the content they display. If you’d like a more detailed overview of how to rank high, check out this article we wrote which walks you through the top 10 Google ranking factors – and can be applied to Youtube too. 

Consider Keywords

You need to consider those all-important keywords when writing video descriptions, just as you would on your website. In the first 100 characters of your description, aim to cram in the best keywords for giving the most relevant explanation of your content to your viewers. 

Don’t forget to be creative with your writing too, your description will act as a pitch that can either persuade or dissuade viewers to keep watching your video. 

Create enticing titles

The title of your video is one of the first things a potential viewer will see and it’s one of the biggest factors considered when a person is deciding whether to click on a video or not. So, make sure it captures both the essence of the video, (what the video aims to explain/its purpose), and comes across as enticing. 

WARNING: Don’t fall into the clickbait trap. If your video doesn’t match up to how you’ve described it in the title, viewers won’t want to watch any more of your videos, and more detrimentally, they won’t trust you as a brand. 

(Think SEO here too, insert the most relevant keywords for your video).  

Choose attractive, relevant thumbnails 

As we said above the title of your video is one of the first things a potential viewer will see, and along with it will be the thumbnail you choose for your video. 

A thumbnail could be a screenshot from your video or even a title-based image. When creating your thumbnail preview, aim to intrigue your viewer and make them want to find out more. But again, ensure it’s relevant to the content of your video or you will just end up with disappointed viewers. 

Encourage subscribers

Another way to get your video ranking higher, and ultimately gain more viewers, is to encourage existing viewers to subscribe to your channel. Not only will your new videos appear on their subscriptions page, but having lots of subscribers also means your videos will rank higher in the search results.

Promote your videos on other platforms

If you’re already using Youtube as a marketing tool, or are considering using it soon, there’s a big chance you already use social media as a marketing tool too. If this is the case, you can share your Youtube videos across all of your social media platforms.

Sharing video content on these other platforms is a great way to attract viewers who’re already interested in your brand, and will increase engagement as your followers will hopefully like, comment and share your videos. 

And there you have it. 6 Ways to boost your viewer count and help your brand reach more potential customers. We hope you enjoyed this post. 

Good luck!

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E-commerce Statistics You Need to Know

Jan 7, 2022 10:40:43 PM / by Byter Team posted in Web Design

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In eCommerce, what’s the trick to staying ahead of the numerous online shopping websites? Knowing what content to put in front of your customers before they even have the chance to search for it themselves. When it comes to eCommerce, truly understanding your customer online behaviour will keep you ahead of all your competitors. Gathering the right eCommerce statistics will allow you to better prepare the right marketing strategies and provide efficient customer experience. 

On that note, we’ve gathered 5 online shopping statistics to help you make the best-informed marketing decisions for your online business. 

Over 2 billion people shop online

Our global population consists of almost 8 billion people, and around a quarter of them are shopping online. This number is only growing too! That’s a lot of potential customers for you to target. Remember though, quality beats quantity – you can’t target everyone, but you can target the right people, with the right strategies. Personalise your campaigns and target those who fall into your ICP (ideal customer profile). Wondering what an ICP is? You can read about it here.

85% of online shoppers conduct online research first

Before committing to buy, most online shoppers will conduct online research beforehand. This might consist of reading product reviews, online forums, comparison sites or browsing other shops before they jump in and purchase. Being able to do this is one of the main reasons people opt to shop online instead of in-store, as it allows them to make a fully informed decision. Make sure your product pages consist of high-quality images, detailed descriptions and relevant specifications so that potential customers have all the information they need. 

69% of shopping carts get abandoned

Almost 70% of shopping carts end up getting abandoned at the final hurdle. This could be due to a number of reasons. For one, people like to window shop, they might not actually be looking to spend but just enjoy fantasising about the products they could potentially buy. Others may become distracted and forget to press checkout, and of course, some people might just change their minds. Whatever the reason, you should ensure your checkout process is fully streamlined so as not to encourage abandoned checkouts where you can. 

65% of retail visits worldwide come from smartphones

Smartphones can be used to do pretty much anything nowadays. Did you know there’s even an app for detecting earthquakes? Amazing stuff. More commonly though, people use smartphones to do their online shopping. More than two-thirds of all online retail visits come from smartphones, so if you’re not already providing a mobile-friendly experience for your customers, well… you need to be. 

Men spend 68% more online than women 

Men love to online shop just as much as women do, probably because it’s quicker, easier, and just about stress-free compared to in-store shopping. It’s not that men shop online more than women, they just tend to spend more money when they do it. So, if you were thinking that women are your best customers, think again. Men are just as valuable and catering to their spending habits might look like offering bundle packages or showing related products to what they’re currently buying that they can simply ‘add to basket’ there and then. 

So there you have it, five crucial online shopping stats you need to know. And now that you do, the power truly is in your hands… It’s time to optimise your online presence and make the most of all those potential customers.

Good luck!

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7 Tips for Successful Email Marketing

Jan 7, 2022 10:39:43 PM / by Byter Team posted in Digital Marketing, Marketing, Copywriting

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Many have predicted that email marketing would either fade away or be replaced and ultimately become a thing of the past. But email marketing is still going strong, and actually, remains one of the most effective marketing strategies out there. 

Since email marketing is a highly effective method for engaging potential and existing customers, it’s also one of the most common. Billions of emails are sent out daily, that’s right, daily. Many of these emails are ignored or sent straight to spam, which is simply wasted efforts. If you want to make your emails sing and compete with the rest of them, we’ve got some top tips that can help you increase your open rates and click-through rates. Let’s jump in. 

Tip 1: Segment your email lists

You probably wouldn’t tell the cashier at your local supermarket about your recent break-up, would you? That’s because, in life, we are selective about which bits of information we tell to which people. The same goes for your email lists. You don’t need to send out every email to every person on the list, you need to be selective. Segmenting your email lists can help you send out emails to the relevant recipients. For example, if you offer student discounts you could segment your email list according to age groups. 

Tip 2: Master your subject line

A great subject line can be the difference between an ignored email and an opened one. You want it to be compelling enough to persuade recipients to open the email, but not so compelling that it comes off as spammy. Nobody likes spammy. You could spell out an offer, or something exciting that’s happening, whilst also keeping it short and to the point. Subject lines with less than 50 characters tend to get the best open rates. 

Tip 3: Ensure your emails are mobile-friendly

People aren’t just checking their inboxes on a desktop or laptop, they’re checking them on the go with their smartphones too. If your email doesn’t load properly on a mobile screen, it’s bound to get sent straight to trash. Many email marketing tools allow you to test your emails so you can see how it looks on both desktop and mobile inboxes, don’t skip this step!

Tip 4: Personalise your emails

A simple trick to increasing those click-through rates is adding your contact’s name to the emails you send them. People are more likely to open emails that are addressed to them as it comes off less robotic and more personal. Plus, taking note of your contact’s previous behaviours, such as which emails they tend to open and which types of content they most interact with, will enable you to customise the emails you send out to them in future.

Tip 5: Include a clear CTA

One of the biggest mistakes people make in their email campaigns is not including a clear call to action. If it’s not immediately evident to your contacts what action they’re supposed to take, it’s likely they’ll just close the email and move on. Whether it’s making a call or opening a link, spell it out with a clear CTA. 

Tip 6: Consider the time of day

The best time of day to send emails is between 8:00 am, and 9:00 am. This is because the first thing people tend to do when they arrive at work is to check their emails, so catching them at this point is your best bet. 

Tip 7: Cleanse your email list

Your email list will degrade over time. For example, when people change jobs their old email address will become redundant. It will negatively impact your delivery rates by having inactive users in your email list, so make sure you cleanse your list by removing those addresses that haven’t been engaged in a long time. As a rule of thumb, you should be doing this once a year. 

And there you have it, our 7 top tips for crafting the perfect marketing email. If you’d like to read a more comprehensive guide to email marketing, check out this article we wrote. 

Good luck!

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